Favourite Quotes

With quotes I have the same issue I have with first sentences: I  don’t remember them. When I remember quotes from books, it is because I heard them in the movie adaptation. Hence, I often don’t know whether the quote really is from the original book or from the screenwriter.

Therefore, my favourite quotes are normally favourite scenes from movie adaptations. Like when Dumbledore tells Harry that what we have to fear most is fear itself. Or at the end of ‘About a Boy’, when Will realises that while we might be islands, some of us belong to island chains. I love that.

And then there are a few quotes from authors not necessarily related to their books. My all time favourite is from Mark Twain:

Never argue with stupid people; they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

And then we have George Bernhard Shaw:

The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.

Let me close with Vikto Frankl, psychiatrist and Auschwitz survivor, who tells us the secret of how to gain control over our lifes:

Between stimulus and response there is a space… in that space is our power to choose our response. In our response, lies our growth and our feedom.

Have a wonderful week, dear reader.

Natalie

Leave a Reply

